Where is God when you need Him the most?

I’ve been struggling with this question for a few months but not in the sense that you may think. As hardships come and, granted, mine are nothing compared to others, I’ve often wondered what makes people ask this question,

Where is God when you need Him the most?

In my experience, and I’m sure I speak for my family when I say this (meaning my wife as well as my parents and siblings), in time of greatest hardships it was His close presence that gave the hope, the comfort, the strength, and the joy amid the darkness.

God’s whereabouts were never in question. He was right there!

He lifted us up. He carried us through. His arms embraced us. His whispers re-assured us and His love never ever failed us.

So what drives a person to ask such a question? “God, where are you?”

As I bowed my head last week to thank God for the food, I said to the Lord, “Thank you for always being there. Even when we walk away, when we’re too busy, when we forget You … You remain faithful.”

You can probably tell that I’m one of those people who, when praying for the food, mentions everything else except the food.

I posed a challenge for myself: if that question ever crosses my mind, whether in hardship, or pain, or helplessness; if I ever have the audacity to look up to God and say, “Lord, where are You? Where are You when I need You the most?” to stop, think for a moment and ask myself, “Richard, where are you when you need God the most?”

Where is God? He’s in the boat right beside you. Where is God? Carrying you while you think it’s your own footsteps in the sand. Where is God? No, where are you? How far have you drifted? At what point did you decide your life is your own, and want Him to have no part in it at all?

Leave a Reply

